January 4th / Drug Laws jasco no comments   0

Classification of Marijuana and Hashish in Tennessee

Facing a drug charge in the state of Tennessee can be a frightening experience. Tennessee has stiff penalties for drug crimes and it is best to understand how various drugs are classified, the associated charges, and the penalties for each.

Tennessee drug classifications

Tennessee classifies drugs into seven different categories, known as schedules. Each schedule has a set of criminal charges and associated penalties. Drugs are assigned to different schedules depending upon the drug’s potential for abuse, likelihood of dependence, and their accepted use. Schedule I drugs are those with the greatest potential for abuse and no accepted medicinal use; Schedule VII drugs are those with the least potential for abuse and dependency.

Marijuana and hashish

In Tennessee, marijuana, THC, and synthetic equivalents are classified as Schedule VI drugs.

The penalties for the manufacture, delivery, and possession with intent of Schedule VI drugs depends upon the amount of the drug in the charged crime. Penalties are as follows:

Manufacture, delivery and possession with intent:

  • 0.5 oz. – 10 lbs. of marijuana: Class E felony, 1-2 years in jail, fine up to $5,000
  • Less than 2 pounds of hash: Class E felony, 1-2 years in jail, fine up to $5,000
  • 10 – 70 lbs. of marijuana: Class D felony, 2-4 years in jail, fine up to $50,000
  • 2 – 4 lbs. of hash: Class D felony, 2-4 years in jail, fine up to $50,000
  • 10 – 19 cannabis plants: Class D felony, 2-4 years in jail, fine up to $50,000
  • 4 – 8 lbs. of hash: Class C felony, 3-6 years in jail, fine up to $100,000
  • 20 – 99 cannabis plants: Class C felony, 3-6 years in jail, fine up to $100,000
  • 70 – 300 lbs. of marijuana: Class B felony, 8-12 years in jail, fine up to $200,000
  • 8 – 15 lbs. of hashish: Class B felony, 8-12 years in jail, fine up to $200,000
  • 100 – 499 cannabis plants: Class B felony, 8-12 years in jail, fine up to $200,000
  • More than 300 lbs. of marijuana: Class A felony, 15-25 years in jail, fine up to $500,000
  • More than 15 lbs. of hashish: Class A felony, 15-25 years in jail, fine up to $500,000
  • More than 500 cannabis plants: Class A felony, 15-25 years in jail, fine up to $500,000

Distribution of less than 0.5 oz. of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor, resulting in jail time of less than one year and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

Facing a drug charge? Contact skilled Murfreesboro drug defense lawyers today

If you or a loved one is facing a drug charge, seek legal counsel immediately. Penalties for drug crimes in Tennessee can be stiff and a skilled criminal defense attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your case. At Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law, our Tennessee drug defense lawyers share a combined 35 years of experience and an impressive track record of success. Contact our office today at 615-890-1982 or online to schedule a free confidential appointment to discuss your case.

0