Murfreesboro Criminal Attorneys

Felony classifications in Tennessee

Tennessee, like most jurisdictions, classifies crimes into two categories: felonies and misdemeanors. While punishments for misdemeanors include monetary fines and prison time of less than one year, felonies are far more serious crimes that are punishable by stiffer fines and prison time of greater than one year. Tennessee has six different classes of felony offenses, each with its set of punishments. If you or a loved one has been charged with a felony, it is in your best interests to seek representation from a qualified attorney. The skilled criminal defense attorneys at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law in Murfreesboro are experienced in Tennessee criminal law, and aggressively fight on behalf of those accused.

Felony classifications

Most states, including Tennessee, classify felonies into groups, such as class A, class B, class C, class D, and class E. The most violent crimes are class A felonies and they have the strictest punishments; class E offenses are the least serious, and the punishments are not as severe.

Class A felony

In Tennessee, class A felonies are considered the most serious felonies. Those convicted of a class A felony may face imprisonment for a period of 15 to 60 years and be required to pay a fine of up to $50,000. Aggravated rape is a class A felony in Tennessee.

Class B felony

Class B felonies in Tennessee are punishable by imprisonment for a period of eight to 30 years, in addition to a fine of up to $25,000. In Tennessee, it is considered a class B felony to allow or cause a minor to engage in sexual acts for pornographic purposes.

Class C Felony

Those convicted of class C felonies may face prison time of three to 15 years and fines of up to $10,000. In Tennessee, aggravated assault is considered a class C felony.

Class D Felony

Those convicted of a class D felony in Tennessee face two to 12 years’ imprisonment as well as a fine of up to $5,000. Possessing ten to 70 pounds of marijuana is considered a class D felony.

Class E Felony

The least serious felonies, class E felonies, bring prison time of one to six years in Tennessee, in addition to a fine of up to $3,000. Those that are charged with theft of property that is valued between $500 and $1,000 are charged with a class E felony.

Facing a felony charge? Our team can help

The experienced criminal defense team at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law in Murfreesboro understands Tennessee law as it pertains to felonies and fight aggressively on their clients’ behalf for the best possible outcome. Felony charges are serious; do not delay in seeking legal counsel. For a free confidential consultation to discuss your case, contact a member of our team at 615-890-1982 or online to schedule an appointment.