Misdemeanor Crimes in Tennessee

While misdemeanors are less serious crimes than felonies, they are, nonetheless, serious offenses that will have a place on your permanent criminal record. Each state institutes punishments on those convicted of misdemeanors, which includes jail time and monetary fines. Don’t take these charges lightly. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Tennessee, for the best outcome in your case, consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney. The Murfreesboro criminal defense lawyers at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law are knowledgeable in all areas of criminal law, and work aggressively to defend you.

Classification of misdemeanors

Most states classify misdemeanor crimes into categories, or levels, respective to the seriousness of the crime. Legally classifying misdemeanors into groups assists with the process of assigning appropriate punishments for crimes as each group is assigned a sentence. When a crime is committed, the range of appropriate punishments is already established.

The state of Tennessee classifies its misdemeanor crimes into three categories: Class A, Class B, and Class C. Misdemeanors and are punishable by up to one year in jail.

What is a Class A misdemeanor?

In Tennessee, the most serious misdemeanor is a Class A misdemeanor. Examples of Class A misdemeanors include:

  • Simple assault
  • Theft under $1000.00 in value
  • Domestic assault
  • DUI
  • Simple possession of marijuana
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia

Class A misdemeanors are punishable by:

  • Jail time of up to 11 months and 29 days
  • Up to a $2,500 fine
  • Both of the above

What is a Class B misdemeanor?

In Tennessee, the crimes of reckless driving and prostitution are both considered Class B misdemeanors.

Class B misdemeanors are punishable by:

  • Jail time of up to six months
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Both of the above

What is a Class C misdemeanor?

In Tennessee, examples of Class C misdemeanors include:

  • Motor vehicle offenses such as speeding
  • Wildlife violations
  • Other petty offenses

The least serious misdemeanors, Class C misdemeanors in Tennessee are punishable by:

  • Jail time of up to 30 days
  • A fine of up to $50
  • Both of the above

Contact aggressive Murfreesboro criminal defense attorneys if you are facing a misdemeanor charge

Misdemeanors are serious crimes. A misdemeanor conviction will impact your life now, in the form of jail time and fines, and in the future in the form of your criminal record. Don’t wait to see how your case pans out. Act now to ensure the best possible outcome. The experienced criminal defense attorneys at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law in Murfreesboro are knowledgeable in all areas of Tennessee criminal law and aggressively advocate for you to achieve the best possible outcome. Contact our office today at 615-890-1982 or online to arrange for a free consultation to discuss your case.