Driver’s License Restoration after a DUI
One of the most serious consequences associated with a DUI offense in Tennessee is the revocation of your driver’s license. The period of the revocation depends on the particular facts of your case, but can be as long as 10 years. During this period, it is illegal to drive, making it difficult to get from place to place. In some cases, the inability to drive may prevent you from getting to and from work or school, causing additional complications.
Thinking you can simply get back on the road once the period of revocation has ended is incorrect. In reality, after you have lost your license as the result of a DUI in Tennessee, you are required to take affirmative steps in order to have your license reinstated. If you do not complete the requirements for reinstatement and are pulled over, you can be arrested and will face new criminal charges. Some of the penalties for driving on a revoked license include:
- Large fines
- Community service
- Jail time
Not being able to drive is inconvenient and frustrating, so it is not surprising people who have had their license revoked after a DUI want to do everything they can to get their license back as soon as possible. An experienced Tennessee DUI attorney can help. There are some circumstances under which you may be able to get a restricted license that allows you to drive to work, school, a court-ordered DUI program, or a scheduled ignition interlock monitoring appointment. In order to obtain a restricted drivers license, you must get an order from the court where the conviction occurred or the court in your county of residence
If you have lost your driver’s license after a DUI, call the Tennessee DUI lawyers at Dotson & Taylor immediately. We work hard to get you back on the road as quickly as possible. With more than 35 years of combined experience, our lawyers have the skill and knowledge you need. To schedule a consultation, call 615-890-1982, or contact us online.