Murfreesboro TN Field Sobriety Test & DUI Arrest Lawyers
Attorneys that bring dedication, skill and personal attention to each case
Were you pulled over for driving under the influence (DUI)? Subjected to a field sobriety test at the arrest scene? The state of Tennessee imposes harsh punishments if convicted of DUI and these charges should not be taken lightly. Before your case goes too far, it is best to hire a lawyer to represent you and protect your rights. The skilled DUI criminal defense team at Murfreesboro Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law brings years of experience aggressively fighting DUI charges on behalf of clients.
What does “Driving Under the Influence (DUI)” mean in Tennessee?
Drinking and driving — known as “driving under the influence” (DUI) — with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more is a crime. Individual states have specific laws regarding DUI as well as the associated penalties. In Tennessee, if the blood alcohol concentration is 0.20 or above, there are additional penalties. For those under the drinking age of 21 years old, Tennessee has a “zero tolerance” policy: individuals under 21 years of age found driving with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 can be charged with DUI.
Refusal to submit to a blood alcohol test when requested by a police officer may result in having your driver’s license revoked for one year if it is the first offense, or for two years if the crash resulted in bodily injury. If it is your second DUI offense, your driver’s license may be revoked for two years. If the crash killed someone and you refused a blood alcohol test, you may have your license revoked for five years.
A police officer may also ask you to submit to a field sobriety test. It is important to know that, in Tennessee, you are not required to submit to this test, nor is there any legal penalty for refusing to do so. Under the law, the police officer is not required to inform you that you have the right to refuse this test so it is up to you to know your rights.
Stiff penalties for DUI offenders in Tennessee
First time DUI offenders face mandatory jail time in Tennessee. At a minimum, offenders face 48 hours in jail, unless the blood alcohol concentration was 0.20 or higher in which case the minimum jail time is 7 days. A first time DUI conviction can also bring up to 11 months and 29 days in jail as well as a monetary fine. Penalties include participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program and may include loss of a driver’s license for one year.
We get results in Murfreesboro
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge, it is important to understand the penalties you face if convicted and your rights under the law. At Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law, we know the DUI law inside out. With more than 35 years’ combined experience defending client’s rights, we bring expertise, skill, and personal attention to each case. Contact our Murfreesboro office today at 615-890-1982 or online to discuss your case or schedule a free consultation.