Murfreesboro Tennessee DUI Lawyers

An aggressive defense to protect your future

A single DUI can mean jail time, heavy fines and a year without a driver’s license. Each subsequent conviction brings increasingly burdensome penalties, as well as a host of other legal issues. At Dotson & Taylor, our Murfreesboro DUI attorneys offer personalized representation aimed at protecting your rights and your future. We examine every aspect of your case, from a traffic stop to your arrest, clearly communicate your options, and keep you up-to-date on the status of your case from beginning to end as we fight to reduce or dismiss the DUI charges against you.

What are the consequences of Multiple DUI?

The first, second and third DUI is a misdemeanor offense in Tennessee, with jail time ranging from a minimum of 48 hours up to one year for your first offense to a 120 minimum to a year for your third offense. Penalties also include costly fines, community service, the revocation/restriction of your driver’s license and the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

A fourth conviction within 10 years, however, brings you face-to-face with Class E felony charges, a minimum of 150 days in jail and the loss of your license for at least five years. Furthermore, a new bill currently awaiting the governor’s approval makes six or more DUIs a Class C felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison.

Multiple DUIs also raise other potential issues:

Those with multiple DUIs often find they face additional misdemeanor charges, penalties and more time without a license if they drive on a license suspended or revoked by a previous DUI conviction. If you are on probation for a DUI offense, officers could also charge you with violating your probation.

If you have three or more DUI convictions within a three-or five-year period a judge may issue an order declaring you a habitual motor vehicle offender. This makes it a Class E felony punishable by 1-6 years in prison if you operate a vehicle while the order remains in effect.

Many courts find repeat DUI offenders a “danger to the community,” making it more difficult to obtain bond and be released from jail after arrest.

Which DUIs count as a prior conviction?

In Tennessee, all DUIs within the last 10 years count against you with respect to sentencing. For arrests on or after July 1, 2010, the law calculates this period from the time since the person’s previous DUI arrest. Arrests made prior to that date, include DUIs within 10 years from the date of the previous DUI conviction.

Can I get a plea agreement?

The court may consider a plea agreement if you plead guilty, or if the prosecutors feel they have a weak case.

Can I expunge a DUI conviction from my record?

A DUI conviction remains on your Tennessee driving record forever. You cannot expunge a DUI conviction, although if a judge dismisses the charges, you may be able to expunge a DUI arrest record.

How can our  Murfreesboro DUI attorneys help me with multiple DUIs?

We thoroughly examine police and prosecutorial procedures to ensure they conducted themselves properly and respected your rights before, during and after your arrest. This includes a review of things such as:

  • The reason for stopping your vehicle;
  • The basis for probable cause;
  • The conditions surrounding a field sobriety test;
  • The experience of those involved in administering breathalyzer and/or blood tests;
  • The status of the equipment used in such tests; and
  • The methods used for evaluating test results.

Contact our skilled Murfreesboro DUI attorneys today for a free consultation

Multiple DUIs carry serious criminal penalties with consequences that can linger for years. The Murfreesboro DUI lawyers at Dotson & Taylor are experienced litigators, ready to launch a proactive defense with the goal of preventing and/or minimizing the impact of multiple DUI convictions. Contact our experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys anytime to learn more about your options at 615-890-1982 or contact us online to schedule a consultation.