Murfreesboro Out-of-State DUI Defense Lawyers
An out-of-state DUI can have major impacts on your driving record
Many drivers mistakenly believe that, because each state is sovereign and creates and enforces its own traffic laws, that a DUI conviction in another state will not impact their driving records. However, this is not always the case. In fact, out-of-state DUI charges may carry the same weight as an in-state charge in Tennessee. At Dotson & Taylor, our DUI defense attorneys are skilled in addressing the impact of out-of-state DUIs on your driving record, as well as your criminal record.
Tennessee DUI charges
In Tennessee, multiple DUIs that occur within state boundaries will add up on one’s record. However, any DUI conviction from another state may count against a Tennessee resident if that resident is later arrested in Tennessee for DUI. This means that, though it may be the first time you have been arrested for a DUI within the state of Tennessee, you may be charged with a second DUI offense because you were convicted of DUI in another state.
Note that the prior DUI only counts against you if it resulted in an actual conviction. Being convicted of a crime and being charged with a crime have two very different legal meanings. Whereas being charged with a DUI simply requires being arrested or receiving an infraction, being convicted means that you either pled guilty to the DUI in court, or that you returned to the state for trial and were found guilty by either a judge or jury of DUI.
Multiple DUI offenses carry significant penalties
In Tennessee, DUI charges carry a number of different penalties, including:
- Jail time
- Driver’s license revocation
- Community service
- Requiring the use of Ignition Interlock Devices
- DUI school
- Drug and alcohol assessment or treatment
- Purchasing specific insurance
The type of penalty imposed depends on the nature of the DUI itself, as well as the driver’s prior record.
DUI offenses in Tennessee: fines and jail time
A first DUI offense in Tennessee is a misdemeanor. It carries between a $350 and $1,500 fine. At the discretion of the judge, jail time ranges between 48 hours and 11 months, 29 days in county jail.
A second DUI offense is also a misdemeanor and carries between a $600 and $3,500 fine. A judge may sentence someone convicted of a second DUI to a jail term of between 45 days and 11 months, 29 days in county jail.
A third DUI offense is a misdemeanor. Fines range from $1,100 to $10,000, and a judge may issue a sentence of between 120 days and 11 months, 29 days in county jail.
A fourth DUI and above is categorized as a felony and carries a fine of between $3,000 and $15,000. Jail sentences may range between 150 days and 6 years of incarceration.
Skilled Murfreesboro DUI defense attorneys can help fight out-of-state DUI convictions
Skilled DUI defense attorneys know how to challenge out-of-state DUI convictions and their impact on your record. The DUI defense attorneys at Dotson & Taylor have years of experience in defending clients in both felony and misdemeanor DUI cases. To protect your legal rights, call Dotson & Taylor to schedule a free consultation to discuss your claim. Call us at 615-890-1982 or contact us online.