Tennessee Manslaughter Defense Attorneys
Aggressively Defending Against Manslaughter Charges in Murfreesboro
There are different degrees of homicide charges in Tennessee that might apply after the wrongful killing of someone else, including murder or manslaughter. While manslaughter is a less serious charge than murder, it is still a homicide charge, and a conviction can mean many years in state prison. You need the strongest possible defense if you are facing manslaughter charges in Tennessee.
The criminal defense lawyers at Dotson & Taylor in Murfreesboro stand up for clients facing serious manslaughter charges. You can trust us with your defense, as we will use all of the resources necessary to build a strong case to fight against your charges. The sooner you call to discuss your charges, the sooner we can start protecting your rights as a defendant.
Manslaughter Charges in Tennessee
Like most states, Tennessee law has two types of manslaughter charges - voluntary and involuntary. Both charges carry harsh penalties and can apply in the following situations.
The offense of voluntary manslaughter involves:
- An intentional killing of someone else
- That happened in a “heat of passion”
- The heat of passion occurred due to certain provocation that would cause a reasonable person to act irrationally
Because this offense involves an intentional killing, defendants often first face murder charges. The murder charge might be reduced to voluntary manslaughter, however, if the circumstances indicate a heat of passion moment, such as walking in on an adulterous spouse and becoming so angry that the person reacts with violence.
In Tennessee, voluntary manslaughter is charged as a Class C felony, with penalties including a $10,000 fine and three to 15 years in state prison. While these are severe penalties, compare this with a second-degree murder charge, which is a Class A felony and can mean up to 40 years in prison and has a minimum of 15 years. Getting a murder charge reduced to voluntary manslaughter can be a strategy in many homicide cases.
Involuntary manslaughter charges apply when a killing was not intentional, but it did happen due to a defendant’s reckless or criminally negligent conduct. Such conduct shows a disregard for the safety of others instead of the intent to kill. Possible involuntary manslaughter charges include:
- Vehicular homicide - Class C felony
- Vehicular homicide while intoxicated - Class B felony
- Reckless homicide - Class D felony
- Criminally negligent homicide - Class E felony
Each of these charges has its own possible penalties, ranging from $3,000 to $10,000 in fines and one to 30 years in prison. Furthermore, those convicted of vehicular homicide while intoxicated are not eligible for probation in lieu of imprisonment.
Speak with a Murfreesboro Manslaughter Attorney Immediately after an Arrest
Each manslaughter charge comes with its own specific criminal elements and possible defenses. You need a manslaughter defense lawyer with experience handling this type of serious case. The legal team at Dotson & Taylor in Murfreesboro represents clients facing violent felony and homicide charges. Call 615-890-1982 or contact us online to start your defense right away.