OPEN PRACTICE AREAS
Protecting Your Rights
For Over 40 Years
Contact Us Today

Sexual Battery Defense Attorneys

Defending Against Serious Sexual Battery Charges in Tennessee

Tennessee law refers to sexual assault as “sexual battery,” which can include many types of conduct, including rape. All sexual battery charges are serious felonies, and even being accused of sexual battery can ruin your reputation. A conviction for sexual battery can change the rest of your life, as you will need to register as a sex offender and face the associated consequences.

If you are accused of sexual battery or rape, you need the highest quality of defense representation as soon as possible. It is critical to mount an aggressive defense to these charges to minimize the consequences you experience. Call our Murfreesboro sexual battery attorneys at Dotson & Taylor for the help you need.

Sexual Battery Charges

There are different types of sexual battery charges, each with its own penalties for a conviction. Allegations might include:

Sexual battery - “Sexual battery” refers to compelling someone to engage in sexual contact against their will. The victim might not consent or might not be able to consent due to mental incapacity, being unconscious, or intoxication. This is a Class E felony charge, and a conviction can mean a fine of $3,000 with a minimum of one year in prison up to six years in prison.

Aggravated sexual battery - The charge of sexual battery can be escalated to an aggravated charge if the prosecutor alleges any of the following:

  • The defendant caused bodily injury to the victim
  • The defendant used a weapon to compel sex
  • The victim was younger than 13 years old
  • Another person helped commit the battery

Aggravated sexual battery is a Class B felony, which means a possible $25,000 fine and a minimum of eight years in prison up to 30 years.

Rape - A sexual battery becomes rape when the defendant compels sexual penetration without consent or with a victim who cannot consent. Sexual penetration can be slight, and it can still qualify as rape. Rape is a Class B felony, which means a possible $25,000 fine and a minimum of eight years in prison up to 30 years.

Aggravated rape - Rape will become aggravated rape if any of the following are alleged:

  • The defendant caused bodily injury to the victim
  • The defendant used a weapon to compel sex
  • Another person helped commit the battery

Aggravated rape is a Class A felony, which means a possible $50,000 fine and a minimum of 15 years in prison up to 60 years.

Sex Offender Registration

If you are convicted of sexual battery or rape, you will need to register as a sex offender. This can have a lasting impact on your life long after you pay fines and complete a prison sentence. It is imperative to properly defend against sexual battery charges to prevent this consequence that can change your life.

Contact Our Murfreesboro Sexual Battery Lawyers for Help Right Away

At Dotson & Taylor, we defend clients facing all types of sex crime allegations. If you have been arrested for sexual battery, call 615-890-1982 or contact us online so we can start working on your defense immediately.