Murfreesboro Vehicular Manslaughter Attorneys
Standing Up for Clients Facing Serious Vehicular Manslaughter Charges in Murfreesboro
Tennessee law has three different types of involuntary manslaughter, one of which is vehicular homicide. If you are accused of driving in a reckless manner that resulted in the death of another person, you can face vehicular homicide charges and potentially severe penalties. If you are arrested and accused of this offense, you need an experienced vehicular manslaughter defense lawyer on your side as soon as possible. Do not hesitate to contact our legal team at Dotson & Taylor to learn how we might help in your case.
What is Vehicular Homicide?
To secure a conviction for vehicular homicide under Tennessee law, a prosecutor must prove that you recklessly caused the death of another person when you were:
- Driving in a way that created a substantial risk of serious injury or death to another person
- Participating in drag racing or street racing
- Driving while intoxicated but alcohol or drugs in violation of state DUI laws
- Driving recklessly in a construction zone and killing a state worker
Even though these are all considered to be forms of vehicular homicide, the penalties can vary depending on the details of the allegations. It is critical to aggressively defend against such charges no matter what the circumstances of the fatal accident might be.
Penalties for Vehicular Manslaughter
Even though involuntary manslaughter is not an intentional killing, the law takes all offenses that involve the loss of life extremely seriously. Therefore, the charges and possible penalties for vehicular homicide are harsh. First, a conviction means that your driver’s license will be suspended for three to ten years. Then, you might face the following penalties for different scenarios:
- In a construction zone = Class D felony charges, two to 12 years in state prison, fines up to $5,000
- Creating a substantial risk of harm or death = Class C felony charges, three to 15 years in state prison, fines up to $10,000
- Street or drag racing = Class C felony charges, three to 15 years in state prison, fines up to $10,000
- While intoxicated = Class B felony charges, eight to 30 years in state prison, fines up to $25,000
If you are accused of intoxicated vehicular homicide, you might face aggravated charges if any of the following apply:
- You have one or more prior vehicular homicide convictions
- You have two or more previous DUI or vehicular assault convictions
- You have one previous DUI or vehicular assault conviction, and you had a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .2 percent regarding the current offense
Aggravated vehicular homicide is a Class A felony, which can mean up to 60 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.
Speak with a Murfreesboro Vehicular Manslaughter Lawyer Right Away
No matter what the circumstances of your arrest and charges may be, you should immediately discuss your defense with a Murfreesboro vehicular manslaughter attorney at Dotson & Taylor. Call 615-890-1982 or contact us online as soon as you can for a consultation about your defense.