Do You Have to Go to Jail For a DUI?
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Tennessee, you may be wondering what punishments you may be facing if you are found guilty of this crime. The type of sentence you will receive if you are found guilty depends on several factors, but you should know that some jail time is mandatory in the state of Tennessee, even if it is your first DUI.
Fighting back against DUI charges requires an experienced criminal defense attorney. For more than 40 years, the Murfreesboro DUI attorneys at Dotson & Taylor, Attorneys at Law have dedicated their knowledge to getting results. If you are facing a DUI conviction, do not take a chance, trust our experience to fight for you every step of the way. Our goal is obtaining the best possible outcome for you. We protect your freedom and your future.
Penalties for First Time DUI in Tennessee
If you are facing a charge for your first DUI, there are certain minimum sentence requirements you should be aware of. First, you will be sentenced to some jail time, from 48 hours to several months. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was over .20%, much higher than the legal limit of .08%, then you will be sentenced to a minimum of seven days in jail. You may also have to pay a fine ranging from $350 to $1,500. You may also be required to attend a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program, as well as have your license suspended for up to a year.
Penalties for a Second DUI in Tennessee
A second DUI in Tennessee carries with it more severe punishments. If you are convicted of a second DUI, you will have a mandatory jail sentence of at least 45 days. You will also be required to pay a fine of anywhere between $600 to $3,500. Additionally, your license will be revoked for two years. Typically, for a certain period of time you may have restricted driving limitations, meaning that once you do get your license back, you are limited to using your vehicle for work, school, and court-related matters. You may also be required to install an interlock device to monitor your alcohol levels when driving.
Penalties for a Third DUI in Tennessee
Understandably, getting convicted of a third DUI in Tennessee has even more serious penalties than a first or second DUI. A third DUI carries with it the following penalties:
-Minimum of 120 days in jail
-Mandatory fines ranging from $1,100 to $10,000
-License revocation for anywhere from 6-10 years, without the possibility of obtaining a restricted license for limited use
-DUI 4 to 5 are E felonies 1-6 years TDOC - minimum service 150 days - $3,000 to $15,000 fine – lose driver license for 8 years
-DUI 6 or more are C felony – 3-15 years TDOC - minimum service 150 days - $3,000 to $15,000 fine – lose driver license for 8 years
-If you have a minor in the car you add additional 30 days to serve
Even if it is your first DUI, under certain circumstances you may face harsher penalties. For example, if you severely injure someone as a result of driving under the influence, you may be charged with a Class D Felony and face two to twelve years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000, and a license revocation between one to five years. If someone is killed as a result of your DUI, you face even harsher penalties, as this becomes a Class B Felony.
If you have been charged with a DUI, even if it is your first offense, you need to be aware that a conviction carries with it some mandatory jail time. Contact the experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys at Dotson & Taylor, Attorneys at Law today at 615-890-1982 or via email to schedule a confidential consultation.