Tennessee DUI Penalties
Nationally- ranked trial attorneys advocate for your rights
Have you been charged with drinking and driving, known as driving under the influence (DUI)? Driving under the influence of alcohol or narcotics is illegal and the state of Tennessee has stiff penalties for drivers who commit this crime. A DUI conviction can have serious consequences to your personal and professional life. Know your rights under the law. Protect your rights by seeking the advice of a qualified Tennessee DUI attorney if you have been charged. The experienced Tennessee DUI attorneys at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law in Murfreesboro have more than 40 years of combined experience and a long track record of success.
What is BAC?
BAC stands for blood alcohol concentration. Each state has limits regarding the BAC at which the state presumes the driver is legally drunk. In Tennessee, the BAC is .08% or 0.4% for commercial drivers. Drivers with a BAC of .20% or higher can face enhanced penalties. For individuals under the age of 21 years, Tennessee has a “zero tolerance” policy. If a driver under the age of 21 has a BAC of .02 while driving, they can be charged with a DUI. If a youth between the ages of 16-20 is found guilty of impaired driving, they will be fined $250, have their license revoked for a one-year period, and the courts can impose community service.
DUI penalties and sentences
In Tennessee, first time DUI offenders with a BAC of 0.08% face mandatory jail time. First time offenders are required to serve a minimum of 48 hours in jail (7 day minimum if the BAC was 0.20% or higher) up to a maximum of 11 months and 29 days in jail. In addition, your license will be revoked for one year, you will be ordered to participate in an alcohol and drug treatment program, you may be ordered to install an Ignition Interlock Device, and you will be fined $350-$1,500.
Second time DUI offenders face a jail time of a minimum of 45 days to a maximum of 11 months and 29 days. Your driver’s license is revoked for two years and once driving privileges are restored, they are restricted to driving to work, school, court-ordered alcohol programs, or interlock device monitoring. Mandatory fines range from $600-$3500, the judge may order you to install an Ignition Interlock Device at your expense, and your vehicle can be confiscated.
Third time DUI offenders face a minimum of 120 days and maximum 11 months and 29 days in jail. The driver’s license is revoked for 6-10 years without the possibility of obtaining a restricted license, the judge can order installation of an Ignition Interlock Device at your expense, and offenders face a mandatory fine ranging from $1,100-$10,000.
Fourth and subsequent DUIs are considered felonies. These charges bring a minimum jail time of 150 days, a $3,000-$15,000 mandatory fine, an 8-year driver’s license revocation, and the judge can order that an Ignition Interlock Device be installed at your expense.
In addition, the judge can order that offenders pay restitution to any person harmed, for any DUI.
Experience matters when facing a DUI charge – contact our skilled Tennessee DUI attorneys today
Facing a DUI charge is a serious matter. Don’t leave the outcome to chance. Our experienced Murfreesboro DUI attorneys at Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law are nationally-recognized trial attorneys with more than 40 years of combined experience and a record of success in representing those charged with DUI. Schedule a free consultation today by contacting our office at 615-890-1982 or contact us online.