Tennessee DUI Laws
Experienced DUI defense attorneys review Tennessee driving under the influence laws
Tennessee law prohibits drunk or drugged driving. If you are caught operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you will face serious legal consequences, such as probation, fines, having an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, and even jail time. Furthermore, if you are convicted, your criminal record could prevent you from getting a job, getting into a particular academic program, renting an apartment, and could also do serious damage to your reputation within the community. For this reason, it is important to do everything you can avoid a DUI conviction, which begins by retaining an experienced Tennessee DUI lawyer immediately following an arrest. At Dotson & Taylor Attorneys at Law, our DUI lawyers are highly skilled and knowledgeable in DUI defense strategies. We work hard to protect your rights, your freedom and your future.
Tennessee driving under the influence statute and penalties
In the state of Tennessee, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. It is important to understand that this limit can be reached with just a few drinks, so it is advisable to avoid drinking and driving as much as possible. The penalties associated with a drunk driving conviction vary,
based on a variety of factors, including whether or not you have been convicted of DUI in the past. Below are some of the legal consequences you may be facing if you are accused of driving under the influence in Tennessee:
- 1st Offense – Fines ranging from $350 to $1,500 and 11 months in jail
- 2nd Offense – Fines of between $600 and $3,500 and up to 1 year in jail
- 3rd Offense – Fines from $1,100 to $10,000 and up to 1 year in jail
- 4th Offense – Fines of between $3,000 and $15,000
People who are convicted of DUI are also required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle, which costs hundreds of dollars.
DUI defense strategies
If you have been arrested for DUI, it is important to keep in mind that not every DUI arrest results in a conviction. In many instances, there are legal defenses that our skilled DUI lawyers can raise that may result in an acquittal, or the dismissal of your case.
- Establishing to the court that you have a medical condition that can cause symptoms that are consistent with alcohol or drug intoxication
- Showing chemical testing that was performed may have been inaccurate
- Demonstrating that the police officer who arrested you lacked the proper training
- Arguing that the initial stop was not legally justified
Contact our skilled Tennessee DUI defense attorneys today if you are facing DUI charges
If you have been arrested for driving while drunk or under the influence of drugs, call our
experienced DUI lawyers as soon as possible. In many cases, the representation of a
lawyer can help avoid the most serious consequences and may even result in the case against you being dropped or dismissed. To schedule a case evaluation, call Dotson & Taylor today at 615-890-1982, or contact us online.